This is why I like Dell support

I have been purchasing Dell Latitude notebooks (M65, D830, D820, etc.) for several years and always purchase the 3 year warranty and purchase the additional year extension when the 3 year warranty is about to run out.  I’m always impressed by the service I get.

I recently had a display issue with my D830 with a vertical green line appearing towards the right side of the display.  So I got online with Dell support.

Here’s my recent chat log with the Dell ProSupport technician, Mike Gallagher.  Do HP, Acer, Sony, Toshiba and the others have this kind of support?

1:00:58 PM        System  You are now being connected to an agent. Thank you for using Dell Chat
1:00:58 PM        System  Connected with ProSupport Michael Gallagher
12:47:25 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Hi, my name is Mike, thank you for contacting Dell Technical Support. While I am pulling up your information may I please get a brief description of the problem and any troubleshooting that has already been done.
12:48:20 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  I am showing that this is a D830, is that correct?
12:49:08 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  My D830 has two problems. One developed in the last 24 hours. It has a green vertical line on the right side of the display that extends the entire length of the display. Also, the "eject" button has fallen off from the card slot.
12:49:49 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  The PCMCIA slot?
12:50:06 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  It’s the "other" card slot. Can’t think of the name…
12:50:47 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  The "express" card slot.
12:50:47 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Is the green line seen on an external monitor?
12:51:09 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  No, I currently have it docked and it is only on the display on the notebook.
12:52:24 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Ok…I need you to undock, power the system off, then hold the D key and the power button down for 2 seconds then release, and tell me what you see.
12:53:41 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  How do I do that without losing you…since I’m using the computer to chat with you?
12:54:32 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  oh… I did not realize that we were chatting on the same system.
12:55:11 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  I can chat back with you on a different computer, if there is some way to connect back to you.
12:55:11 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  I will suspend the session , then you can do that, and when you go back into chat you will get me.
1:02:01 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  The screen cycled through all the colors with each colored screen displaying the vertical green line except, of course, the green screen where the line couldn’t be seen. 🙂
1:03:09 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  hello
1:03:17 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Hola.
1:03:34 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  that’s what I need to know
1:03:39 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  It the LCD
1:03:54 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Can I please get the address contact name and phone number that will be used for this dispatch?
1:03:57 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  That’s what I thought…either that or a cable going to the screen.
1:04:19 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  yep…going to replace them both
1:05:16 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Russell Wright, xxxx xxxxxx 
1:05:43 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Usually at the biz address during the day.
1:06:10 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Where do you want me to send a tech?
1:06:21 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  To the biz address.
1:06:35 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  no problem
1:07:02 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Don’t forget the "eject" button for the express card slot! 🙂
1:07:53 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  is that Richardson TX?
1:08:01 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Yes.
1:09:03 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Any other issues with he system that need to be addressed like missing rubber feet or cracked plastics?
1:09:08 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  *the
1:09:57 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Nope. All looks good except for some scratches on the lid.
1:11:43 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  We will fix that too while we are out there.
1:11:48 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Please bare with me while I process this request, this will take several minutes.
1:12:06 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Wow! I’ll be grabbing some snacks.
1:14:04 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  no problem…. enjoy
1:14:24 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Chips ‘n salsa.
1:18:39 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  it will be just a few more minutes
1:18:48 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  OK.
1:28:40 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Thank you for your patience, Your dispatch number is 140933333 
1:28:55 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  This part should ship next business day and you should be contacted by the onsite tech by 1:00pm tomorrow
1:29:00 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Is there anything else that I can help you with today?
1:30:07 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  No. You’ve done great! Thanks for your assistance.
1:30:25 PM        ProSupport Michael Gallagher  Thank you for choosing Dell! We are always available at support.dell.com/chat. Please feel free to close this window at your convenience.
1:30:36 PM        RUSSELL WRIGHT  Bye!

Leave a Reply

